logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

2006 CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize Recipient

CRM > Prizes > CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize > Recipients > Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann
2006 CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize Recipient
Professor Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann (University of Alberta) [ français ]

Information on the November 22, 2006 conference

The directors of the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) of l'Université de Montréal - François Lalonde, the Fields Institute - Barbara Keyfitz, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences - Ivar Ekeland, are pleased to announce the awarding of the CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize for 2006 to Professor Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann of the University of Alberta in recognition of her exceptional achievements in functional analysis and geometric analysis.

The prize was established in 1994 as the CRM-Fields prize to recognize exceptional research in the mathematical sciences. In 2005, PIMS became an equal partner and the name was changed to the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize. A committee appointed by the three institutes chooses the recipient.

Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann, this year's recipient, is one of the world’s leading mathematicians working in functional analysis. She has made outstanding contributions to infinite dimensional Banach space theory, asymptotic geometric analysis, and the interaction between these two streams of modern functional analysis. She is one of the few mathematicians who have contributed important results to both areas. In particular, her work constitutes an essential ingredient in a solution by the 1998 Fields Medallist W.T. Gowers of the homogeneous space problem raised by Banach in 1932.

Professor Tomczak-Jaegermann received her Master’s (1968) and Ph.D. (1974) degrees from Warsaw University in Poland. She held a position at Warsaw University from 1975 to 1983 and was visiting professor at Texas A & M University during 1981-1983. In 1983 she moved to the University of Alberta where she holds a Canada Research Chair in Geometric Analysis. She gave an invited lecture at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 1998, is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, received a Killam Research Fellowship, and the Krieger-Nelson Prize Lectureship of the Canadian Mathematical Society. She has served the Canadian research community in various ways including NSERC and CMS committees, the Canada Council Killam Research Fellowship Committee, the Canada Research Chairs College of Reviewers, as well as the Scientific Board of BIRS. She has also served as the University of Alberta Site Director of PIMS and as Associate Editor of the Canadian Journal of Mathematics and the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin. Previous recipients of the prize are H.S.M. (Donald) Coxeter, George A. Elliott, James Arthur, Robert V. Moody, Stephen A. Cook, Israel Michael Sigal, William T. Tutte, John B. Friedlander, John McKay, Edwin Perkins, Donald A. Dawson, and David Boyd.