logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM-Fields-PIMS prize

CRM > Prizes > CRM-Fields Prize > Recipients > Boyd
David Boyd (UBC)
[ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize 2005 : David Boyd

David Boyd David Boyd is being awarded the CRM-Fields Prize for 2005 in recognition of his exceptional achievement and work in analytic number theory.

David Boyd is one of Canada's leading number theorists. He has made seminal contributions to analytic number theory, noteworthy among which are his explorations of the deep connections between the Mahler measure of polynomials and special values of their associated L-functions.

Professor Boyd received his B.Sc. from Carleton University in 1963, and his M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in 1964 and 1966. He has taught at the University of Alberta and the California Institute of Technology, and has been at UBC since 1971 where he is currently Full Professor. He is a winner of the E.W.R. Steacie prize, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and has won both the Canadian Mathematical Society's Coxeter-James and Jeffery-Williams prize lectures. His service to the Canadian mathematical community includes terms as vice-president of the Canadian Mathematical Society, chair of the NSERC Mathematics grant selection committee, and Acting Director of the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences.


Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize