logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics
CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics
[ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) created in 1995 on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the CAP, a joint prize in recognition of exceptional achievements in theoretical and mathematical physics.

The Canadian Association of Physicists, founded in 1945, is a professional association representing over 1600 individual physicists and physics students in Canada, the U.S. and overseas, as well as a number of Corporate and Institutional Members. In addition to its learned activities, the CAP also undertakes a number of activities intended to encourage students to pursue a career in physics.

The CRM is a national research centre in mathematics jointly supported by the federal government, the province of Québec, and the Université de Montréal where it is based. Among the activities of the CRM are thematic semesters, summer schools, workshops, seminars, and the publication of monographs, proceedings, and lecture notes in mathematics and physics. CRM also supports research through research laboratories, including one in mathematical physics.

The object of this award is to recognize research excellence in the fields of theoretical and mathematical physics. The award is not limited to CAP members but the candidates' research should have been done in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university or industry. This medal was awarded for the first time at the 1995 CAP Annual Congress.

Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize