logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM-Fields-PIMS prize

CRM > Prizes > CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize > Recipients > Elliott
George A. Elliott (Fields/Toronto/Copenhagen)
[ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

CRM-Fields Prize 1996 : George A. Elliott

The CRM-Fields Institute Prize for 1996 was awarded to Professor George A. Elliott of the University of Toronto and the University of Copenhagen. The awards ceremony took place at the CRM on April 19, 1996, following a lecture by Professor Elliot entitled "C*-algebras at the CRM." He was cited in particular for his classification of C*-algebras via invariants related to ordered K-theory. His work has so influenced this field that specialists speak of "the Elliot Program," and he was an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 1994.

Professor Elliott has published more than 100 papers and given invited talks at some 48 universities and numerous meetings. He served as editor of the Canadian Journal of Mathematics and the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin and currently edits the Mathematical Reports of the Academy of Sciences of Canada.

In addition to the work cited above George Elliott has made important contributions in other areas of operator algebras: derivations and automorphisms of C*-algebras, classification of AF-algebras in terms of their ordered Ko-groups, and non-commutative tori.

George Elliott obtained his B.Sc. and M.Sc. at Queens University in Kingston in 1965 and 1966 and his Ph.D. at the University of Toronto in 1969. After postdoctoral fellowships at the University of British Columbia and Queens University and a year at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, he accepted the position of lektor at the University of Copenhagen in 1972. In 1984 he was named adjunct professor at the University of Toronto.


Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize